Barcelona Metro L3

Green Line: Zona Universitària-Trinitat Nova

Barcelona Metro L3 is the city's oldest underground railway line and opened in 1924.

It runs from the the University of Barcelona Zona Universitària campus out to the neighbourhood of Trinitat Nova.

Important Green Line stops in the city centre include Sants-Estació, Espanya, Catalunya, Passeig de Gràcia and Diagonal.

Other useful stops are Liceu for the Barri Gòtic, Penitents for Gaudí's Park Güell and Maria Cristina for FC Barcelona's Camp Nou Stadium.

Buying Tickets

You can buy single journey tickets and a variety of travel cards, including the excellent value T10, in the machines in the FGC entrances.

However, if you are visiting for a few days, it is well-worth investing in a Barcelona Card, which not only gives you full access to the Barcelona integrated transport system, including metro, buses, trams, ferrocarrils but also discounts on Barcelona museums and tourist sights as well as in some shops and restaurants.


L3 Green Line Metro Stations

  • Zona Universitària
  • Palau Reial
  • Maria Cristina
  • Les Corts
  • Plaça de Sants
  • Sants-Estació
  • Tarragona
  • Espanya
  • Poble Sec
  • Paral.lel
  • Drassanes
  • Liceu
  • Catalunya
  • Passeig de Gràcia
  • Diagonal
  • Fontana
  • Lesseps
  • Vallcarca
  • Penitents
  • Vall d'Hebron
  • Montbau
  • Mundet
  • Valldaura
  • Canyelles
  • Roquetes
  • Trinitat Nova

L3 Green Line Technical Info

Opened: 1924
Number of Stations: 26
Length: 18.5 km
Time of Journey: 43 minutes

Evolution of the L3 Metro Line

  • 1924 - Opening of Catalunya-Lesseps section.
  • 1925 - Opening of Fontana station opened. Catalunya-Liceu section.
  • 1926 - Opening of Passeig de Gràcia-Jaume I section.
  • 1934 - Opening of Jaume I-Correos section.
  • 1946 - Opening of Liceu-Fernando section.
  • 1968 - Opening of Fernando-Drassanes section.
  • 1970 - Opening of Drassanes-Paral·lel section.
  • 1972 - Closing of Passeig de Gràcia-Correos section.
  • 1975 - Opening of Paral·lel-Zona Universitària section (as L3B).
  • 1982 - Integration of L3B into L3.
  • 1985 - Opening of Lesseps-Montbau section.
  • 2001 - Opening of Montbau-Canyelles section.
  • 2008 - Opening of Canyelles-Trinitat Nova section.

Have Something To Say About This Topic?

Do you have a great information to add or an opinion to express about on this topic? Share it!

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.