Barcelona Metro L8

Plaça Espanya-Molí Nou-Ciutat Cooperativa

Barcelona Metro L8 opened in 1912 and links Plaça Espanya in Barcelona proper with the munipalities of Hospitalat, Cornellà and Sant Boi de Llobregat to the south of the city.

The line is part of the Llobregat-Anoia and Metro del Baix Llobregat railway networks and is operated by Ferrocarrils de la Generalitat de Catalunya (FGC).

There are plans to extend the line to Barcelona City Centre at Plaça Francesc Macià and so connect with lines L6 and L7.

Buying Tickets

You can buy single journey tickets and a variety of travel cards, including the excellent value T10, in the machines in the FGC entrances.

However, if you are visiting for a few days, it is well-worth investing in a Barcelona Card, which not only gives you full access to the Barcelona integrated transport system, including metro, buses, trams, ferrocarrils but also discounts on Barcelona museums and tourist sights as well as in some shops and restaurants.


L3 Lilac Line Metro Stations

  • Plaça Espanya (L1, L3)
  • Magòria-La Campana
  • Ildefons Cerdà
  • Europa-Fira (L9)
  • Gornal (RENFE)
  • Sant Josep
  •  Avinguda Carrilet (L1)
  • Almeda
  • Cornellà-Riera
  • Sant Boi
  •  Molí Nou-Ciutat Cooperativa

L8 Pink Line Technical Info

Opened: 1912
Number of Stations: 11
Length: 12 km
Time of Journey: 30 minutes

Evolution of the L7 Metro Line

  • 1912 - Opening of overground line.
  • 1987 - Cornellà-Riera – Sant Josep section and Sant Josep – Espanya ection moved underground
  • 1997 - Opening of Magòria-La Campana station.
  • 2000 - Opening of Molí Nou – Ciutat Cooperativa station

Have Something To Say About This Topic?

Do you have a great information to add or an opinion to express about on this topic? Share it!

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.