FC Barcelona Presidents

From Walter Wild to Josep Maria Bartomeu

Including current president Josep Maria Bartomeu, at the time of writing, there have been 40 FC Barcelona Presidents and 4 Management Committees in the history of the FC Barcelona.

Paradoxically, the founder of the club, Hans Gamper, was not the first president but rather fellow Swissman Walter Wild, who was the oldest person present at the inaugural meeting.

However, Gamper subsequently became club president on five occasions between 1908 and 1925, although the longest serving Barça president was Josep Lluís Nuñez, who occupied the position from 1978 to 2000.

Thirty-four out of the thirty-nine FC Barcelona Presidents have been Catalans with the exception of three Swissmen (Walter Wild, Paul Haas and Hans Gamper), a German (Otto Gmelin) and an Englishman (Arthur Witty) in the early years of the club.

Although today the president is elected by all members of the club, in the early days, the president was simply chosen at club meetings by consensus without there being a formal electoral process.

At the start of the Spanish Civil War, the FC Barcelona president, Josep Sunyol, was murdered by fascist troops in the Sierra de Guadarrama on August 6th 1936 and consequently, he is known as the 'martyr president'.

After the war during the early years of the Franco dictatorship from 1939 to 1953, presidents of the club, whose name had been changed to the Spanish Club de Fútbol Barcelona, were assigned by the regime.

In 1953, the first semi-democratic elections for the presidency were held, in which male members aged over the age of majority, could only vote for candidates chosen from the select group of socis compromissaris or delegate members.

Since 1978, FC Barcelona have been elected by direct universal suffrage of club members aged over 18 who have been members for at least a year.

In 2001, the assembly agreed to limit the length of any presidency to a maximum of two consecutive terms of office and in 2009, the term of office of each presidency was extended from 4 years to 6 years so now the maximum period an FC Barcelona president can be in office is 12 years.

On July 20th 2006, judge Roberto García Cendrers ruled that Joan Laporta had to call elections immediately because, although he had only served a little over 3 years as president, his term of office, which had begun on July 15th, had started in the 2002-03 so he was forced to stand down before the 2006-07 season started.

The current president of the club is former vice president Josep Maria Bartomeu, who took over when his predecessor Sandro Rosell resigned in January 2014.

The President chooses members of the Junta Directiva or Board of Directors, who are ratified by the socis compromissaris or delegate members, who are members aged over 18 chosen by a draw and who then participate and vote in club assemblies as representatives of all members for a period of two years.


A List of FC Barcelona Presidents

Presidents who have occupied the position for the longest periods

  • Josep Lluís Núñez i Clemente. From 01-07-1978 to 23-07-2000. 22 years and 22 days.
  • Hans (Joan) Gamper. President in five different periods, totalling 8 years and 4 months.
    * From 02-12-1908 to 14-10-1909: 8 months and 12 days.
    * From 17-11-1910 to 30-06-1913: 2 years, 7 months and 13 days.
    * From 17-06-1917 to 19-06-1919: 2 years and 2 dies.
    * From 17-07-1921 to 29-06-1923: 1 year, 11 months and 18 days.
    * From 01-06-1924 to 16-06-1925: 1 year and 15 days.
  • Agustí Montal i Costa. From 18-12-1969 to 18-12-1977: 8 years.
  • Francesc Miró-Sans. From 22-12-1953 to 28-02-1961: 7 years, 3 months and 6 days.
  • Joan Laporta i Estruch. From 15-06-2003 to 01-07-2010: 7 years and 15 days.
  • Augustín Montal i Galobart. From 20-09-1946 to 16-07-1952: 6 years, 7 months and 4 days.

Have Something To Say About This Topic?

Do you have a great information to add or an opinion to express about on this topic? Share it!

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.