Sandro Rosell i Feliu

FC Barcelona President 2010-14

Born in Barcelona in 1964, Sandro Rosell became FC Barcelona President on July 1st 2010 after a long association with the club first as part of Joan Laporta's board and then in opposition to him.

When he arrived to the presidency, the situation couldn't have been better with the first team still coached by Josep Guardiola at the height of its success.

However, the resignation of Guardiola and a series of disasters, including the death of Guardiola's substitute, Tito Vilanova, along with scandals, such as suspicion over the Neymar signing, led to Rosell resigning in January 2014, more than two years before the end of his first term of office.

FC Barcelona fans had very high hopes of the Rosell presidency as he was perceived as the economic brains behind the first Laporta presidency.

Aged only 26, he had joined the marketing department of the Olympic Games organising committee in 1990.

In 1996 moved to NIKE as sports marketing manager for Spain and Portugal and so is the man behind the current sponsorship deal between NIKE and FC Barcelona.

In 1999, he moved to Rio de Janeiro to become marketing manager for NIKE in Latin America and one of his big coups was the deal with the Brazilian national team.


Rosell and Laporta

In 2002, Rosell returned to Barcelona to set up his own company and, whilst maintaining important contacts in football around the world, became involved in the campaign that brought Joan Laporta to the FC Barcelona presidency in 2003.

Once in the hot seat, Laporta made him vice-president in charge of sport and it is widely agreed that it was Rosell's contacts in Brazil and with NIKE that ended up bringing Ronaldinho to Barcelona and so beginning the golden age of success under Frank Rijkaard.

However, by 2005 differences with Laporta led Rosell to resign along with other members of the board and in 2006 published the autobiographical Benvingut al món real - Welcome to the real world - which explained some of the disagreements between the two.

On June 27th 2008, Rosell gave a press conference explaining why he was supporting the vote of No Confidence in Laporta and also announce that he would be standing in the next elections to the presidency of FC Barcelona.

Election Campaign

On May 11th 2010, Sandro Rosell presented his precandidacy to the presidency under the slogan "Tots som el Barça" - "We Are All Barça" and highlighting plans to strengthen the financial and social infrastructures as well as improving the sports facilities.considered

He emphasised that the members are the only owners of FC Barcelona and also announced plans to create an Espai Barça for members, which would be open 365 days a year, to finish building the Ciutat Esportiva Joan Gamper and to halt any plans to sell the land occupied by the Miniestadi.

The election campagn was particularly dirty with insults being thrown between candidates.

In 2013, it was discovered that during the campaign Rosell had had contacts with the violent Boixos Nois supporters, who had been expelled from Camp Nou by Laporta in 2003, with a view to allowing their return and the Generalitat of Catalonia considered investigating the club for the sale of match tickets to unauthorised groups.

However, in the elections on July 1st 2010, Sandro Rosell received 61.5% of the votes, making him the most voted president in the history of FC Barcelona.

As FC Barcelona President

With a board made up of Josep Maria Bartomeu, Jordi Cardoner, Carles Vilarrubí, Xavier Faus, Toni Freixa and Susana Monje, one of Rosell's first decisions was to take the title of Honorary President away from club legend Johan Cruyff, which he had received under Laporta.

This provoked the immediate resignation of Cruyff, who publicly handed back his club insignia on TV, and marked an important rupture in the Barça family.

Rosell then formally accused Laporta and his board of corruption during the 2009-10 season but fortunately the case was finally closed in 2013 with no evidence found against the accused.

Another important decision was deciding to have paid sponsorship on the Barça shirt for the first time and in return for €30 million a season the organisations chosen were Qatar Foundation and Qatar Airways, which has caused some disagreement due to the country's association with funding extreme Islamic terrorism.

Txiki Beguiristain, who left the club at the end of the Laporta presidency, was replaced as techical director by another former Dream Team member, Andoni Zubizarreta.

Pep Guardiola continued with basically the same squad led by a superb Leo Messi and on the field success continued with La Liga in 2010-11, a 3-1 win in the final of  Champions League against Manchester United at Wembley and was crowned by another FIFA World Clubs Cup against Santos.

However, 2011-12 was more irregular and apparently following disagreements with Rosell and Zubizarreta, Guardiola announced that he would not be continuing as first team coach for the following season on April 27th 2012, although his departure had been suspected for some time.

Guardiola's position was occupied by second-in-command Tito Vilanova, who had already suffered a bout of throat cancer.

In a season, fraught with emotion in which Tito Vilanova had to take three months off for treatment in the US, an FC Barcelona led by an often overlooked assistant coach for much of the season won La Liga with a record 100 points.

Just before the start of the 2013-14 season, Tito Vilanova announced that he would not be continuing as coach due to ill health and was replaced by Gerardo 'Tata' Martino.

The star signing at the start had been Neymar, officially for a figure of €57 million, but accusations started to be made that the figure had been much higher.

Sandro Rosell stuck to his story  but a few days after Judge Ruz cited him to declare in court, he finally resigned on January 23rd 2014 to be replaced by vice-president Josep Maria Bartomeu.

Sandro Rosell signs Neymar for FC Barcelona

Titles won under Sandro Rosell

Liga (2): 2010-11, 2012-13
Copa del Rey (1): 2011-12
Supercopa de España (3): 2010, 2011, 2013
UEFA Champions League (1): 2010-11
European Super Cup (1): 2011
FIFA Clubs World Cup (1): 2011

Have Something To Say About This Topic?

Do you have a great information to add or an opinion to express about on this topic? Share it!

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.