Barcelona Metro L5

May 3, 2021 Off By barcelonas

Blue Line: Cornellà Centre-Vall d’Hebron

Barcelona Metro L5 is one of the city centre’s most used underground railway lines and opened in 1959.

The Blue Line runs from Cornellà Centre in the Baix Llobregat, home of RCD Espanyol’s stadium, to Barcelona’s main hospital at Vall d’Hebron.

Important Blue Line stops in the city centre include Sants Estació, Diagonal, Verdaguer, Sagrada Familia and La Sagrera.

The real value of the L5 Metro Line is being able to get to places such as Cornellà and Gavarra on one end and El Carmel and La Teixonera on the other, which were always difficult places to access.

You can buy single journey tickets and a variety of travel cards, including the excellent value T10, in the machines in the metro entrances.

However, if you are visiting for a few days, it is well-worth investing in a Barcelona Card, which not only gives you full access to the Barcelona metro, buses, trams, ferrocarrils but also discounts on museums and tourist sights as well as in some shops and restaurants.